Featured on Graphic Policy!

Much to my excitement, Alex from Graphic Policy interviewed me for a new feature they’re starting on webcomics.

20160426-120433_p0-1 Below is an excerpt–click here to read the full text!

Graphic Policy: In a nutshell, can you tell us what the strip’s about?
Belle Kim: My comics record the trials and tribulations of a Korean immigrant and aspiring academic/activist whose life is consumed by grad school, teaching, and the endless desire to produce meaningful art of some sort. Basically, it’s about me and my thoroughly exciting life.

GP: How often do you update?
BK: I (attempt to) update daily but occasionally skip on those days when my to-do list becomes impossibly long.

GP: How long have you been producing the strip?
BK: I started posting my daily comics online in February 2015, but there is a stack of sketchbooks in my apartment somewhere that holds comics dating back to my sophomore year in college.

GP: Where did the idea for the strip come from?
BK: I got into the habit of journaling in comic-form after taking a writing workshop with Lynda Barry, who is every bit as brilliant in person as you’d expect her to be once you’ve read her work. She got me to start writing and drawing again after a long hiatus. She and fellow cartoonist Alison Bechdel, who keeps meticulous records of her life and engages with the hidden potentialities of the everyday and mundane to produce breathtaking work, inspired me to begin drawing comics about my own lived experiences.

Leave a Reply

