SLUG POEM

Below is an artifact of my brief schooling in Korea. When I was in first grade, I was asked to write and illustrate a poem that would be framed and put up in the school halls. I was too stubborn to let my mother print the words in her neat handwriting. While the poems and artwork of all the other students who’d been chosen were immaculate and looked utterly professional, here I was, proudly holding mine up despite the fact that it had crooked letters that wriggled every which way. The poem itself is about a plump slug that crawls into my mother’s glove only to find that it is too big; he then moves into my glove and says, “Ahh, snug and cozy,” before proceeding to hibernate for the winter without a care in the world.

slug

Leave a Reply

