Mon amour, c’est Hercule Poirot.

For as long as I can remember, my sister and I have loved Agatha Christie’s murder mystery novels and her vain little Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot, who proudly flaunts his enormous mustache and grey cells about at every opportunity. Apparently, we were a couple of rather morbid kids. While we’ve both read every Hercule Poirot mystery we could get our hands on, I refused to watch the TV series that developed from the books for a long time because I preferred the Poirot of my own imagination. This summer, during my visit in Indiana, my sister finally convinced me to watch an episode and I immediately fell in love with David Suchet’s interpretation and portrayal of this endearing character. Here he is:

Scan 11
“It is the brain, the little grey cells on which one must rely. One must seek the truth within–not without.”
Leave a Reply

